Types of Eating Disorders as Defined in DSM V

Homepage | Personal Reflection | Types of Eating Disorders defined in DSM 5 | Potential Effects of Anorexia Nervosa | Differences between Males and Females | Anorexia in men | True or False Statements | Recommended reading | References

The Eating Disorders Defined in DSM V

When the DSM V (APA 2013) was released there were a number of changes to the eating disorder section. Descriptions and definitions were changed, binge eating disorder (BED) was formally recognised and three disorders which had previously been listed as child development disorders were re-classified to the eating disorder section. These were Pica, Rumination Disorder and Avoidant/Restrictive Food Intake Disorder.

The seven disorders are as follows (listed in alphabetical order)

    • Anorexia nervosa
    • Avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder
    • Binge eating disorder
    • Bulimia nervosa
    • Feeding or eating disorder not elsewhere classified.
    • Pica
    • Rumination disorder

Exercise – Give the eating disorders a name

We have mixed the seven eating disorders up; can you link the short description of the symptoms with the name. Note some of the similarities and differences in the descriptions.